tracks musicians credits related releases

Sweet Surprise

Eric Andersen

Initial release : 1976

Arista 4075

The tenth Eric Andersen LP, his second on the Arista label. Brent Mydland provides backing vocals on two tracks of this album.


  • Lost In A Song (Andersen)
  • How It Goes (Andersen)
  • Dreams Of Mexico (Andersen)
  • San Diego Serenade (Andersen)
  • Sweet Surprise (Waits)
  • Down At The Cantina (Andersen)
  • Crazy River (Andersen)
  • Love Will Meet Again (Andersen)

  • Eric Andersen - acoustic guitar, vocals
  • Chris Parker - drums
  • Richard Bell - ARP synthesizer, keyboards
  • Tony Brown - bass
  • Arlen Roth - acoustic guitar, electric guitar
  • David Mansfield - fiddle, guitar
  • Antonio Ramos - percussion
  • Tom Sellers - additional keyboards
  • June (Sister Joon) Millington - additional acoustic and electric guitar
  • Tim Scmitt - background vocal (Sweet Surprise)
  • John Batdorf - background vocals (Crazy River and Dreams of Mexico)
  • Brent Mydland - background vocals (Crazy River and Dreams of Mexico)
  • Greg Coller - background vocals (Crazy River and Dreams of Mexico)
  • Jennifer Condos: acoustic guitar, vocals (Love Will Meet Again)
  • Happy Traum - concertina, mandolin (Down at the Cantina)
  • Paul Horan - Acoustic guitar, harmony vocals (Lost in a Song)
  • Dennis Perracra - background vocals (Lost in a Song)
  • Wacky Jacky Robbins - cello (Love Will Meet Again)
  • Ben Keith - pedal steel guitar (How it Goes and Sweet Surprise)
  • Tom Scott - saxophone (San Diego Serenade)

  • Producer - Tom Sellers
  • Engineer - Mark Harman
  • Arranger - Eric Andersen, Tom Sellers
  • Concert Master - Sid Sharp
  • Liner Notes - Eric Andersen
  • Cover Photo - Guy Cross
  • Recorded in New York and Los Angeles
Related releases

Dreams Of Mexico was included on a compilation of tracks taken from Andersen's three LPs released on Arista in the 1970s;

Lost In A Song, How It Goes, Down At The Cantina, Sweet Surprise and Love Will Meet Again were included on;
Buy from

album cover