tracks / musicians credits notes related releases

Greenpeace - Rainbow Warriors

Various Artists

Initial release : June 1989

Geffen 24236

A double LP/double CD compilation that was issued on a variety of labels worldwide. It includes Throwing Stones from the Grateful Dead album In The Dark and Look Out Any Window from the Bruce Hornsby and the Range album Scenes From The Southside. Rob Wasserman plays on the Lou Reed track. The cover shown is that of the double CD release.

Tracks / Musicians

The track and performer information below is taken from the double LP release in Germany.

Side 1

  • Pride (In The Name Of Love) - U2
  • Heaven Is A Place On Earth - Belinda Carlisle
  • Love Is The Seventh Wave - Sting
  • Let's Go Forward - Terence Trent D'Arby
  • Ship Of Fools - World Party
  • Don't Stop The Dance - Bryan Ferry
  • Last Great American Whale - Lou Reed
Side 2
  • When Tomorrow Comes - Eurythmics
  • Middle Of The Road - Pretenders
  • Throwing Stones - Grateful Dead
  • This Time - INXS
  • Lay Your Hands On Me - Thompson Twins
  • Small World - Huey Lewis And The News
  • City Of Dreams - Talking Heads
  • Waterfront - Simple Minds
Side 3
  • The Whole Of The Moon - The Waterboys
  • It's The End Of The World As We Know It (And I Feel Fine) - R.E.M.
  • You're The Voice - John Farnham
  • Set Them Free - Aswad
  • Somebody - Bryan Adams
  • Miles Away - Basia
Side 4
  • Red Rain - Peter Gabriel
  • Look Out Any Window - Bruce Hornsby
  • Wholly Humble Heart - Martin Stephenson And The Dainties
  • I Will Be Your Friend - Sade
  • We Are The People - John Cougar Mellencamp
  • Why Worry - Dire Straits
Bonus tracks on the CD release
  • Balance - Little Steven
  • Scottish Rain - The Silencers
  • Somewhere Down The Crazy River - Robbie Robertson
  • Hard Rain - Hothouse Flowers
Throwing Stones is taken from the Grateful Dead album In The Dark. The Grateful Dead during the recording of this album were;
  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
  • Mickey Hart - drums
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - bass
  • Brent Mydland - keyboards, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals
Look Out Any Window is taken from Bruce Hornsby's Scenes From The Southside. The musicians on that release were;
  • Bruce Hornsby - piano, accordion, synthesizer, vocals
  • George Marinelli, Jr - guitar, mandolin, vocals
  • Peter Harris - guitar, mandolin
  • Joe Puerta - bass, vocals
  • John Molo - drums
Last Great American Whale is taken from Lou Reed's New York album. The musicians involved are;
  • Lou Reed - guitar, vocals
  • Mike Rathke - guitar
  • Rob Wasserman - bass
  • Fred Maher - drums, bass
  • Maureen Tucker - percussion

For the compilation (taken from German release of double LP);

  • All titles donated - Many thanks to all the performers, writers, producers, managers, record companies and music publishers who have given so generously of their work, royalties and time to make this record possible
  • Executive producer - Ian Flooks
  • Sleeve concept and design - Andy Gammon, John May
  • Fron cover - The Leisure Process
  • Illustration - Dave Gibbons, John Burns Jr
  • Digital mastering - Jack Adams, tape One Studios, London
  • Project coordinator - Peter Bahouth, David Campbell, Jolene Cherry, Cornelia Durrant, Kathleen Flynn, Kate Karam, Cathy Oudemans, Kerrie-Anne Quinn, Helen Sanders
  • This album was put together as a donation to Greenpeace by Ian Flooks and his staff at Wasted Talent Artists' Agency in London: Faye Allies, Bazil Barrow, Bob Gold, Gillian Kendon, Michelle McCormick, Sally Morris, Keith Naisbitt, Paul Wilson. Their generosity, energy and good humour were tested to the limit and found to be inexhaustible
  • (A long list of special thanks is included)
  • This album is distributed on a non-profit basis by the following record companies - BMG/RCA for the world excluding: Geffen Records (North America), Mother Records (Ireland), Durium Records (Italy), Sonet (Scandinavia), WEA (New Zealand), CBS (India). Also released in The USSR, Bulgaria, Czechoslovakia, Poland, Yugoslavia and Japan
  • Dedicated to Julia and Evgenii
  • All proceeds from the sale of this album will go to Greenpeace to continue their fight in defence of the planet

A sampler of late 1980s rock that was originally released in the USSR as Breakthrough. It supposedly sold 500,000 copies in the USSR on the day of it's release. Eventually USSR sales reached 3 million copies.

Subsequently released world-wide on a variety of labels. According to Greenpeace world-wide sales had raised more than 8 million dollars by 1998.

Profits from the sale of the album have been used to fund Greenpeace campaigns and infrastructure.

All the artists involved donated their music to Greenpeace.

The phrase Rainbow Warriors comes from a native American myth. The Warriors Of The Rainbow will emerge to save the planet when it is sick and the animals are dying.

Related releases

Rainbow Warriors was originally released in the USSR, with two less tracks, as;

Throwing Stones is taken from; Look Out Any Window is taken from; Last Great American Whale is taken from; Greenpeace formed their own record label in 1992 and released;
  • Alternative NRG, Various Artists, Greenpeace
Buy from

album cover

album cover