tracks musicians related releases

New Lost City Ramblers, The Early Years: 1958-1962

The New Lost City Ramblers

Initial release : 1991

Smithsonian Folkways

Collection of tracks taken from the Folkways albums released by the group between 1958 and 1962.


  • Colored Aristocracy
  • Hopalong Peter
  • Don't Let Your Deal Go Down
  • When First Unto This Country
  • Sales Tax on the Women
  • Rabbit Chase
  • Leaving Home
  • How Can a Poor Man Stand Such Times and Live?
  • Franklin D. Roosevelt's Back Again
  • I Truly Understand You Love Another Man
  • The Old Fish Song
  • The Battleship of Maine
  • No Depression in Heaven
  • Dallas Rag
  • Bill Morgan and His Gal
  • Fly Around My Pretty Little Miss
  • The Lady of Carlisle
  • Brown's Ferry Blues
  • My Long Journey Home
  • Talking Hard Luck
  • The Teetotals
  • Sal Got a Meatskin
  • Railroad Blues
  • On Some Foggy Mountain Top
  • My Sweet Farm Girl
  • Crow Black Chicken

  • John Cohen
  • Mike Seeger
  • Tom Paley
Related releases

The tracks on this collection are taken from the following albums;

This compilation was subsequently released as part of the 3 CD set;
Buy from

album cover