tracks / musicians

The Best of the Rock Machine Turns You On

Various Artists

Initial release : 1992


This CD compilation, which collects together tracks previously included on Columbia LP samplers in the early 1970's, includes tracks by Moby Grape, Peanut Butter Conspiracy, Electric Flag, The Great Society, Big Brother & The Holding Company and It's A Beautiful Day.

Tracks / Musicians

The tracks and performers on this compilation are;

  • Can't Be So Bad - Moby Grape
  • Fresh Garbage - Spirit
  • I Won't Leave My Wooden Wife For You - The United States Of America
  • Turn On A Friend - The Peanut Butter Conspiracy
  • Sisters Of Mercy - Leonard Cohen
  • My Days Are Numbered - Blood, Sweat & Tears
  • Killing Floor - The Electric Flag
  • Come Away Melinda - Tim Rose
  • More & More - Blood, Sweat & Tears
  • Stone Soul Picnic - Laura Nyro
  • Stop - Al Kooper, Mike Bloomfield
  • You Ain't Goin' Nowhere - The Byrds
  • Somebody to love - The Great Society
  • Hey, That's No Way To Say Goodbye - Leonard Cohen
  • See To Your Neighbour - The Electric Flag
  • Ball & Chain - Big Brother & The Holding Company
  • Time - Dino Valente
  • A Lot Of Love - Taj Mahal
  • Tired Of Waiting For You - The Flock
  • White Bird - It's A Beautiful Day
Related releases

Can't Be So Bad was originally released on;

I Won't Leave My Wooden Wife for You, Sugar was originally released on; Turn On A Friend was originally on a single and then on an LP;
  • Turn On A Friend / Captain Sandwich, Peanut Butter Conspiracy, 1967, Columbia 44356
  • The Great Conspiracy, Peanut Butter Conspiracy, 1968
Killing Floor was originally released on; Somebody To Love was originally released on; Ball And Chain was originally released on; White Bird was originally released on;
album cover