tracks musicians credits related releases

The Collected Country Joe & the Fish

Country Joe & The Fish

Initial release : 1987 ?

Vanguard VCD-111

Compilation of tracks from the five Country Joe & The Fish LPs, though the bulk of the collection is drawn from the first two albums..

Buy from



  • Superbird (McDonald)
  • Bass Strings (McDonald)
  • Section 43 (McDonald)
  • Flying High (McDonald/Melton/Cohen/Barthol/Hirsch)
  • Not So Sweet Martha Lorraine (McDonald)
  • Death Sound Blues (McDonald)
  • Porpoise Mouth (McDonald)
  • Sad and Lonely Times (McDonald)
  • The "Fish" Cheer / I-Feel-Like-I'm-Fixin'-To-Die Rag (McDonald)
  • Rock Coast Blues (McDonald)
  • Janis (McDonald)
  • Eastern Jam (Barthol/Cohen/Hirsh/Melton)
  • Good Guys/Bad Guys Cheers (Melton)
  • Rock & Soul Music (Barthol/Cohen/Hirsh/McDonald/Melton)
  • An Untitled Protest (McDonald)
  • Here I Go Again (McDonald)
  • Maria (McDonald)
  • Crystal Blues (McDonald)
  • Rockin' Round the World (McDonald)

The musicians on these tracks are;

  • Country Joe McDonald - guitar, organ, harmonica, tambourine, bells, vocals
  • Barry Melton - guitar, kazoo, vocals
  • Bruce Barthol - bass, harmonium, vocals
  • Chicken Hirsh - drums, congas, bells, wine bottles, sand blocks, castanets, music box, vocals
  • David Cohen - guitar, calliope, piano, organ, harpsichord, bells, vocals
  • Mark Ryan - bass (Here I Go Again)
  • Mark Kapner - piano (Maria)
  • Peter Albin - bass (Maria)
  • Jack Casady - bass (Crystal Blues)
  • Greg Dewey - drums (Rockin' Round the World)
  • Mark Kapner - keyboards (Rockin' Round the World)
  • Doug Metzner - bass (Rockin' Round the World)

  • Original producer - Samuel Charters
  • Original engineers - Robert di Souza, Ed Friedner
Related releases

Superbird was originally released on;

Bass Strings and Section 43 were originally released on; Flying High, Not So Sweet Martha Lorraine, Death Sound Blues, Porpoise Mouth and Sad and Lonely Times were originally released on; The "Fish" Cheer / I-Feel-Like-I'm-Fixin'-To-Die Rag, Rock Coast Blues, Eastern Jam and Janis were originally released on; Rock & Soul Music, Good Guys/Bad Guys Cheer and An Untitled Protest were originally released on;
  • Together, Country Joe & The Fish, 1968
Maria, Crystal Blues and Here I Go Again were originally released on; Rockin' Round the World was originally released on;
  • C J Fish, Country Joe & The Fish, 1970