tracks musicians credits related releases

Historic Dead

Grateful Dead

Initial release : 1971

Sunflower SNF-5004

LP release of live material from 1966. This was a legal release but was not released with the permission of the Grateful Dead. The album reached the Billboard 200 album chart.


Side 1:

  • Good Morning Little Schoolgirl (Williamson)
  • Lindy (Traditional arr. Grateful Dead)
Side 2:
  • Stealin' (Cannon/Traditional)
  • The Same Thing (Dixon)

  • Jerry Garcia - guitar, vocals
  • Bill Kreutzmann - drums
  • Phil Lesh - bass
  • Pigpen (Ron McKernan) - keyboards, harmonica, vocals
  • Bob Weir - guitar, vocals

  • Producer - Robert Cohen (Side 1), Peter Abram (Side 2)
  • Edit, remix - Richard Delvy
  • Album design - Robert Hickson
  • Thought to have been recorded in September 1966 at the Avalon Ballroom, San Francisco and November 1966 at The Matrix, San Francisco
Related releases

Lindy and Stealin were included on a compilation that comprised material from two Sunflower releases:

All the tracks from Historic Dead were included on a double LP compilation: The other Sunflower LP that was used as a source for the compilation was;
Buy from

album cover