tracks related releases

The Essential Bob Dylan

Bob Dylan

Initial release : October 2000

Sony 85168 (Columbia 5031332)

A double CD European compilation of tracks originally recorded between 1961 and 1999. Includes one track, Silvio, which was co-written by Robert Hunter and which includes Jerry Garcia, Bob Weir and Brent Mydland on backing vocals. The track list mat have varied in different European countries.


Disc 1

  • Blowin' in the Wind (Dylan)
  • Don't Think Twice, It's All Right (Dylan)
  • Times They Are A-Changin' (Dylan)
  • It Ain't Me Babe (Dylan)
  • Maggie's Farm (Dylan)
  • It's All over Now, Baby Blue (Dylan)
  • Mr. Tambourine Man (Dylan)
  • Subterranean Homesick Blues (Dylan)
  • Like a Rolling Stone (Dylan)
  • Positively 4th Street (Dylan)
  • Can You Please Crawl Out Your Window? (Dylan)
  • I Want You (Dylan)
  • Just Like a Woman (Dylan)
  • Rainy Day Woman #12 and 35 (Dylan)
  • All Along the Watchtower (Dylan)
  • Quinn the Eskimo (The Mighty Quinn) (Dylan)
  • I'll Be Your Baby Tonight (Dylan)
  • Lay Lady Lay (Dylan)
  • If Not for You (Dylan/Harrison)
  • I Shall Be Released (Dylan)
  • You Ain't Goin' Nowhere (Dylan)
  • Knockin' on Heaven's Door (Dylan)
Disc 2
  • Forever Young (Dylan)
  • Tangled up in Blue (Dylan)
  • Shelter from the Storm (Dylan)
  • Hurricane (Dylan/Levy)
  • Changing Of The Guards (Dylan)
  • Gotta Serve Somebody (Dylan)
  • Blind Willie McTell (Dylan)
  • Jokerman (Dylan)
  • Tight Connection To My Heart (Dylan)
  • Silvio (Dylan/Hunter)
  • Everything Is Broken (Dylan)
  • Dignity (Dylan)
  • Not Dark Yet (Dylan)
  • Things Have Changed (Dylan)
Related releases

The tracks on this collection are from the following sources;

A limited edition version of this compilation with a six track bonus CD was released in 2009:
Buy from

album cover